Week 3 CREATIVE

I am creative. I have always been creative.  I wrote my first school play when I was 10 years old. The teacher allowed me to select students from the class to perform the play during a Black History celebration.

I wrote a script and line-up for a Talent Show when I was in Junior High School.  The Theme Title was taken from the Mighty O’Jays hit ‘Living for the Weekend’ ojays.  It was exciting and chaotic and thrilling. I had butterflies the night of the show and I was so proud of what I had accomplished.

Then? Life happened.  A lot of life happened. Time continued to tick away.

Many years later, during a resurgence of my CREATIVE self I wrote a play for my adult daughter’s Youth Group at her church. Though I could not have a direct hand to produce the project, the content had a major positive impact on the group.

In 2003 I had an idea for a Summer Concert Youth Talent event.  The title I gave it was Jammin’ for Jesus. I wanted to give the young people of the community an opportunity to work with skilled adults who would share their skills & insights with the youth and the youth in turn would build and paint the set/stage, create costumes, write the skits, sing and represent different music genres, have (clean language) comedians, have an Original Fashions (from the youth) fashion show featuring aspiring models & of course the Emcee.  Make it an annual event  and pow! This concept could have rocked my city and the surrounding areas.

Then? Life continued to happen. Better this time. Still Survival mode.

Now why on earth would I share this today.  Well you see, I had forgotten about this part of me. I did not truly realize that this Robin had quietly slipped into the background and my conscious mind did not bother to go after her. My conscious mind was very busy with stuff, you know survival stuff. And as I am learning, apparently when you do the same thing for a certain amount of time, accepting the results you receive, then those actions become habit and now you don’t even need to think about what you’re doing, you just do it. So if you have indicated, even  unintentionally, that  you’re good with what’s happening in your world you just go on and on and on.

Then?

I was asked to choose, from a short list, two things that best fit me and what I want.  I took the opportunity to look deep within myself, and though it felt like unfamiliar terrain, I went on a journey to find me. The CREATIVEcreativity me that was once able to see so much more beauty and hope and possibilities.

She showed up.woman Hey girl! I missed you!

Enjoying the Journey,

Robin A. ‘Millioinairess’ Walker

By Master Key Master Me

One comment on “Week 3 CREATIVE

Leave a Reply

